Table of Contents
What is CSSLP Certification?Benefits of CSSLP CertificationPrerequisitesCSSLP Exam DetailsCSSLP Domains
What is CSSLP Certification?
In 2008, the Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP), or International Information System Security Certification Consortium (ISC)2 was launched. It is a vendor-neutral credential. The CSSLP certification certifies that the certified professional is able to apply best security practices, auditing and authorization to all phases the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle). All phases of the SDLC include software design, implementation, testing and deployment. A CSSLP certified software professional will create a software security program for their company, reduce production costs, mitigate source code vulnerabilities and reduce losses due software infringements.
CSSLP Certification has many benefits
CSSLP certification certifies that a person has knowledge about software security. It proves that the person has the skills that companies around the world need. These positions can be achieved after you have completed the CSSLP certification
Application Security Analyst
IT Director/Manager
Software Architect
Software Developer
Software Procurement Analyst
Software Program Manager

CSSLP-certified professionals enjoy many benefits, including
Credibility: CSSLP certification confirms that a person has a good understanding of software security. It demonstrates that they have the skills organizations around the world are looking for.
Higher salaries: CSSLP-certified professionals in the software security sector are highly in demand. Certified professionals are able to earn higher salaries due to the growing demand.
Pertinent knowledge: The CSSLP cert certifies one’s expertise and is the best way for one to expand one’s knowledge in software security. The (ISC.2) offers continuing education for the CSSLP exam so that certified professionals can keep their knowledge current and up-to-date.
Flexible skills: CSSLP is not product-specific. This means that certified professionals can apply their skills to different methodologies and technologies.
CSSLP professionals can provide better protection for your organization’s software products. A CSSLP expert can also protect personal and private data against internal and external cyber security threats.
The minimum requirement for a candidate is to have at least four years of cumulative paid Software Development Lifecycle(SDLC) work experience in one of the eight domains of (ISC)2 CSSLP (CBK).
Three years of paid professional SDLC experience in one or more domains of CSSLP CBK. This can be combined with a four year degree in Computer Science, Information Technology (IT) or related fields.
CSSLP Exam Details
Exam Duration3 hoursNumber of Questions125Exam FormatMultiple-choicePassing Score700 out of 1000LanguageEnglishCSSLP Domains
Here are the CSSLP domains

Domain 1: Secure Software Concepts (10%)
This domain of CSSLP has 10% exam weightage. Domain 1 of CSSLP covers core concepts of security.
Confidentiality, availability and integrity. Authorization, authentication, accountability and nonrepudiation.
It also covers security design principles such as separation of duties and defense in depth, resilience, and defense in depth.
Domain 2: Secure Software Requirements (14%).
CSSLP domain 2 contains 14% weightage for the CSSLP certification exam.
This domain will familiarize you with both functional and non-functional security requirements. It also identifies, analyzes, and reports on compliance requirements.
You will be able to understand the concept data classification requirements (data o